Princess DW

Christmas Eve! So a trip over to the florists to get some flowers for the gaff, and then a whistle round Waitrose picking up some wine, oatcakes, and the free newspaper. And then a long overdue stroll round the various markets. I don't want to be overly cynical, but most of the pish that's on sale is just the same old mass market manufactured stuff unloaded from Transits that you see everywhere. Very little handmade stuff or originality. It seems like German Markets inc. is just a brand controlled by one distributer and has become like Britain's High Streets - same old stuff everywhere. Having said that, I had a very enjoyable Gluhwein and Bratwurst. And look who's here - someone who has otherwise been quite absent from blip. She tells me she's been too busy shopping and making soup to blip!

Home for a long chat with an old pal on the phone who I haven't seen for a good number of years and who has been laid low (though his spirits seemed very high) by cancer. I'll need to get down to Musselburgh to catch up in a few days time. And strum his new eleven hundred quid Martin acoustic. Nice!
So, a few hours before we stroll out for a midnight service at the Kirk round the corner. It's been years since I did that; I better get gargling some tincture for the vocal chords. Have an enjoyable evening, all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.