There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Thief of Hearts: Snowberry Clearwing Moth

"There shall be eternal summer in the grateful heart." - Celia Thaxter


I admit I don't always enjoy the high heat of summer (I'm more of a cool-weather kind of girl), but I love the fancy bugs that the sun and the heat and the long days and summer flowers bring us.

Meet one of my very favorite fancy bugs, the snowberry clearwing moth, Hemaris diffinis.

While walking with my husband in the local gamelands last June, I saw the first of these "fancy bugs." It was bigger than a bumblebee, almost as big as a small hummingbird.

We stood there with our mouths open (me, admittedly, wishing for my camera), watching in fascination as it fed upon Pennsylvania's state flower, the delicate pink and white mountain laurel. It hovered over the plant for a long while, lovingly visiting each bloom.

A few days later, while I was at work, my husband called me from home, breathless: "Your fancy bug is here! It's here IN OUR YARD!" Well, of course I couldn't leave work to come home and see it, but I was very happy!

Over the next month or two, I was fortunate to have not just one but TWO fancy bugs become frequent visitors to our yard. One was this variety, Hemaris diffinis. The other was Hemaris thysbe, the hummingbird clearwing moth, which has more of a maroon color.

You may note that the moth in this photo appears to be smiling and wearing a little black mask. (Oh nectar bandit, that long siphon is helping you steal the sweet juices of flowers.) It almost looks like it's wearing a blonde wig. Its wings are nearly clear. The body is large and covered in fuzz; it is tempting to try to touch it. Be warned: If you meet one in person, you just may lose your heart to it. I know; I did.

Come, summer. Come, heat. Come, flowers. Bring on the fancy bugs in all their wild beauties!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.