There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Where the Lilies Bloom

"If you have two loaves of bread, sell one and buy a lily." - Chinese proverb.


A few years ago, I planted several varieties of Asiatic lilies near the front porch. They've been blooming for the past week. I've photographed them every day in different kinds of light (and even by moonlight), but somehow they haven't made it to blip until now.

Lilies are among the fanciest flowers in my yard. They are elegant and demand your attention. I believe these may be a variety of stargazer, which I find a cool name for a flower.

An individual flower only lasts a few days. I've been watching the blooms open and fade (see that lily on the lower right - it's already lost a few petals): free entertainment in the yard, and also an object lesson in learning how to "seize the day!"

The bee who showed up and obligingly perched on one of the lily's stamens for this picture also seemed to think they were quite tasty.


P.S. For the cat owners: It's important to note that lilies can be deadly toxic to cats. A cat who ingests a bloom, stem, pollen, or leaf of a lily can die of kidney failure within as little as one day's time. I am not sure I knew this when I planted them; I still enjoy the beauty of the lilies, but I do not touch them or bring them indoors. You can read more about lily toxicity in cats here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.