The Grass Is Always Greener . . .

I'd like you to meet the small rabbit who lives in the bush next to my butterfly garden!

It was the 4th of July, a big holiday in the U.S., and we didn't have any plans, and we'd been running around all week, so on this day we stayed home.

It was hot and humid out, and much more comfortable inside, so we began our holiday weekend marathon of Star Trek movies by watching the first movie in the set (I'd bought the entire set last week on discount, for about $4.50 per DVD movie), watched our 4th of July staple, Independence Day, and made ourselves a lovely chicken dinner.

And from time to time, I took a half-hour break to sit outside and keep an eye on the butterfly garden. The monarda have come into full, red, enticing blooms, and I've been waiting all summer for my hummingbirds. Oh, yes, I've seen them - just a glimpse - from time to time, but barely at all. I think the wet weather disagrees with them.

And on this day, I did see several hummingbirds, but their visits were quick, and so I didn't get any decent pictures of them. There are at least two of them, and I expect that over time, they'll get used to my presence again, and linger long enough for me to get some pictures.

As I was watching the butterfly garden, a tiny rabbit hopped out from under the bush to the right, and began nibbling on the green grass. (This is the same bush that contains a pair of tiny birds who have a nest there.) Then the bunny turned its attention to the greens INSIDE the butterfly garden.

The grass is always greener, as they say, on the OTHER side of the fence. And who knows, this little bunny may have actually been born in my butterfly garden!

I thought at first that the bunny was Cinnabun. But then, later in the evening, I saw Cinnabun, and Cinnabun is quite a bit larger than this rabbit. So this one must be a relative newcomer.

The bunny nibbled around a bit, and then a tiny bird came out of the bush and chased the bunny back under the bush! (Why? I have no idea.) And that was the end of the story!

The soundtrack: The Outlaws, with Green Grass and High Tides.

P.S. The bunny now has a name, thanks to BowBelle! Meet: Hunnybun! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.