Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A memorable Christmas

A lovely long lie in this morning - Archie was still snoozing, head stuck under my chin, at 8.30. And still snoozing at 9am. Brilliant! 9.30am - he really giving us a nice long lie-in. Come 10am, I thought I'd better get up, Uncle A arriving in the am... Archie did not budge. Usually he rushes off to get his toys and play tug of war when I'm vertical.

No Archie to meet me coming out of the bathroom... He was still in bed. I put my socks on without him trying to grab them off me. Something was wrong!! The wee lad was ill!!!!

I took him out for a walk - he was very reluctant. Tail down. However, he did manage a wee trot later on, tail up. He did his biggest poo ever. Back to bed, where he has been all day. Looking up now and again. We carried him in his bed through to the kitchen while we had our Christmas lunch.

I must say, it did put us off feeling festive! But he rallied round a bit in the afternoon, hopped out of his bed, and took a wee toddle round the back green. We felt a bit happier, and even managed a glass of wine to celebrate the day. Uncle A enjoyed his day, and did well with his pressies - he gave me a selfie stick! We had fun with it, but nothing fit for blipping.

I think the vet would have said keep him warm and hydrated and let him sleep. But we'll see what he's like tomorrow.

Here he is surrounded by his unopened presents. I hope he'll be raring to look at them tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.