Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Twa Dugs in a Gale!

Gosh it must have been very windy during the night! Our front garden was full of rubbish - even pizza boxes! It was still windy when we took the dogs up the Hill later in the morning. I was in constant danger of being blown over! However, I made it to the summit, up the long slow slope instead of my usual shorter but much tougher path.

I was quite impressed that I'd made it to the top - haven't been there for ages - and wanted proof, so here it is! The poor wee dugs didn't even dare stand up. But Archie had a bit of sense and sheltered in behind Bailey.

After a wash and brush up for both dogs, E and J arrived to take Bailey to her next holiday home - in Aberdeenshire. So it's a quieter household tonight.

I was persuaded to venture down town to join in the festive fun. I'm a bit 'bah humbug' about Christmas markets, and I was surprised how long I lasted. It got very crowded, so I'm pleased that the market stall owners had plenty of customers - I'm sure their season so far hasn't been too marvellous...

I discovered that the carousel horse that Archie sat on the other day isn't actually a normal carousel, it's a (slow moving!) carousel bar - folk stand round their horse with their drinks on the table, while the whole thing slowly revolves. What a good idea. Maybe they speed it up as the night wears on...

We also had a wander to St Andrews Square, and were tempted by the Eyemouth fish'n'chip stall. I did take a few photos, but nothing twinkly enough, so dugs in a gale it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.