Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Gee-up!

In a weak moment, I took a notion to pop into town to show Archie the 'Winter Wonderland'. He hasn't been on a bus for a while, and a few little 'yips' slipped out, followed by a whole series of them as he pushed past the startled young lady in front of him to get off. How rude.

Archie loved the Christmas Market. I was less enamoured. I don't really want to buy blueberry muffin flavoured coffee beans or a wooden tie. And at 11am, I didn't fancy a mulled wine either. But Archie loved the smells, and spent his time enthusiastically searching for scraps of food. But it's about the only place in the city that is regularly cleaned, so his searching was futile.

Talking of litter, as we sailed along on the bus, still in Marchmont, I spied two of the rarely sighted - mythical, even - Environmental Wardens strolling along without a care in the world, their arms tucked into their hi-viz jackets. I was just about to jump off the bus and go and suggest to them that they pop along to the corner shop in about 10 minutes and catch enough litterers (school kids) to justify their wages for the day. But of course, they won't do that... Anyway, I had to abandon the idea of a chat with them when a neighbour I haven't seen for a while hopped on board and chatted.

Down at the Winter Wonderland, the ice rink was empty, and I was tempted to ask if Archie could have a wee go on the ice. But then I spied the still closed horsey thingie with bits of wood across the horses" backs lest anyone thought they were open for business. The friendly chap, who was reading a book and probably couldn't be bothered opening, agreed to my odd request. Archie was disappointed it didn't move, but I think he would have panicked if it had...

In the afternoon I wandered over to the coffee shop to meet up with some ex-colleagues. I always love to hear how stressed they are!

PS. JR back to school today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.