Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Now watch the fancy footwork, Archie.

JR felt better by the end of the day in bed yesterday, playing non-stop games of Solitaire on her iPad. A peaceful night - unlike the previous one - and she was up and getting ready to go to school this morning. But it was not to be. A hacking cough suddenly developed. So she phoned the school, made her apologies, and went back to snooze.

I was also enjoying a snooze, listening to Radio 4, when I remembered just in time that they were painting the lines on our road, and cars had to be moved by 8.30! I can shower and dress in minutes, if need be. Three other cars were still there past the deadline. One was removed, and the others got a ticket. Which was a bit unfair, as finding that your car is not there is ten times, nay - twenty times - worse than getting a ticket! I know from experience.

I took Archie up the Hill as I had the car at my disposal. I very slowly walked up the slope, but did not attempt the summit. Archie cared not a jot how slow I was, he ran around happily, rushing up to dogs, playing chasing with a big black hairy dog, and learning some dance moves from this one, who looks as if he's only got three legs!

I spent some time tending to Christmassy things, then chatting on the phone with Uncle A, who was pondering about a Christmas present to himself, having been in the shop recently and having had a demonstration... He just needed a wee prod in that direction, so I obliged. Exciting!

Fire on, we watched two episodes of the Bridge in the afternoon, once I could lure JR away from playing Solitaire ('I've got it sussed. There's a technique...')

Happy Birthday Bob!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.