Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie helps again

The AGA SAGA (contd.) The chimney sweep came this morning at last. The flue has never been swept (in four years) as the previous owners were under the impression it didn't need doing till 2020. Duh! However, I was amazed at the small amount of soot that did come out - I thought the fireplace would have been full and was worried about it billowing out uncontrollably into the lounge.

Archie howled because I shut him in the kitchen when the men arrived - he's so nosy. And so he was allowed to 'help'. This is nearly a match to the plumber's bottom shot, but this chap had a belt! The job required three chaps, actually, so you can see where the £114 for 10 minutes half an hour's work goes. One chap to climb on to the roof, one to hold the ladder and one to hoover the soot. Can't wait to light it this evening and see if it 'draws' any better, or is it the larch that's not much good... [EDIT: It's made a huge difference - the fire is roaring!]

BONUS: The young chap freed my axe from the log! Mind you, it took him several goes.

I wrote a snippy letter to the people I bought the pulley system and rope from. I enclosed two pieces of rope, their frayed one and my new one for comparison. I may have exaggerated slightly as to the trauma suffered by the dog when the pulley crashed down, narrowly missing him...

It was a super, crisp, still, blue-skied day, so Archie and I set off for a big walk. My favourite one, because there are no roads or cars and it's mostly tarmac, so not too muddy. From Cannonmills along the Water of Leith to the harbour.

We met loads of dogs in the park this time - a saluki, a basset hound, a pug, a border terrier, and a spaniel. At one point they were all charging around while the owners compared bad habits. The dogs' bad habits, that is.

We also met a bouncing Hungarian Viszla. It was bouncing crazily around under the trees, chasing squirrels. Archie was puzzled at this behaviour. Archie does not know what squirrels are.

Down at the harbour there was a ripple on the water, so I didn't bother with photos. But I did spot a wee cafe with the 'Dugs Welcome' sign in the window. I had a delicious flat white and and even more delicious muffin. In fact, THE most delicious muffin in the history of muffins (and I'm quite an expert). It was spiced apple and custard. It was SO good I had to buy two to take away as well.

But... will there still be two here by the time JR comes home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.