Merry Christmas

This lovely church, dating back to C12th, with some C16th "modernisation" of the tower,  is St Andrew's in the village of Sandon, Essex, adjacent to the village of Great Baddow where I grew up and is the church where I went to Sunday School as a child.  It is also where my brother and I went to morning service today and joined a very small congregation who welcomed us warmly in a service that was the first time I have sung carols in church at Christmas for many a year.  Gareth and I enjoyed the service very much, and also the sojourn down memory lane.

Then after gifts at  home it was off to the Fox and Raven (of course!!) for the most splendiferous three course Christmas dinner in warm, familiar and friendly surroundings.   Returned home and bro is currently snoring snoozing to aid digestion of a thousand billion calories while I am half watching Bill Murray's "Scrooged" on the TV.   We may or may not break out the mince pies later....

Merry Christmas everyone, I wish you peace. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.