DancingAly

By DancingAly

30+2...

I was scared I'd oversleep this morning, so I got up around 5:30am. On my birthday! It was scarily like a school morning. My lovely mummy picked me up at 7:30, just as it was becoming light and the long awaited blue sky was appearing.

We chatted along in the car on the way to the station. It was really nice. And I started to not really want to go. Why do I do these things to myself? I gussied myself up, and took the train to the airport. It sort of didn't feel right not to be at home on my birthday. Normally I spent it with Mum and Little R, and dad and sister number two come home/visiting in the early evening. Usually we have cake and presents etc. 

But I decided to do something different this year. I got to the airport around 9am. I decided to travel light with just my Superdry backpack and handbag, despite paying for hold luggage. I had porridge for breakfast in Pret, and I saw Ian Hislop and his family, obviously on their way somewhere nice for Christmas! 

The flight was a bit bumpy, but I'm getting used to that. I had a bit of a crisis of confidence when I got there. I was here just over a month ago, albeit for a day for my interview, but I sort of felt like I didn't want to/shouldn't be here. Sigh. Talk about never being happy.

I took the train from Schiphol to Amsterdam Centraal, and then tried to figure out where to catch the tram. All the while looking around as it took me right back to July when I was there with Tim and Laura. I didn't have to worry about where to go that day, as I had "Tour Guide Tim" with me! ;-) I always called him that, even when we were out and about in London, as he always knew where we were going, whereas I had to look everything up on maps ;-) I learned a lot from him in regards to getting around in London-I should really have been guiding him, seeing as it is "my" city ;-)

I felt a bit sad, as I pictured us getting the tram back in July, etc. But in part I think this is what this trip was about- looking back/trying to go forward.

I managed to scrape together enough euros for the tram, as the machine would only let me take out 100s rather than just the few I wanted. I wasn't exactly sure where to get off, but a quick look on TripAdvisor cleared it up. It was blue sky and sunny as I whizzed through the centre. I didn't recognise any of it, but it was nice to see the bustle and business, as well as mentally remembering places I wanted to go later.

Unfortunately when the tram stopped, I had put my ticket in my purse, and by the time I retrieved it, it was too late to get off! Which was rather a pity as it stopped right in front of my hotel! It flew off a couple more minutes further along, so I had to jump off and walk all the way back. 

The hotel was nice, and I liked my room. I picked a boutique hotel as I wanted to stay somewhere nice, and also it was sort of my birthday present to myself. Hotel Notting Hill, Amsterdam

I called my mum when I got there. And I felt a bit sad. This is not how I envisaged spending my birthday this year. But I'm coming to the realisation that life rarely works out the way you want it to. I planned to go out later, so I decided to curl up in bed and put the TV on for a bit. I ended up taking a little nap for around two hours, and when I woke up, I felt a lot more positive. I never get to really relax, so it was nice to just take to my bed in the day ;-)

I decided to walk towards the centre and take some pictures. It wasn't really cold, and it was quite nice to just walk about, snapping pics and watching other people. I didn't really get any great pictures, but I liked in a couple of stores that were still open, and walked up to the Christmas market part. I went to a shop called SLA, where you can build our own salad. It was amazing! I couldn't finish it all! 

I walked back to the hotel, and had my birthday drink in the bar there. It was quiet, but better than being sad at home, which I might well have been once I was alone. The hotel staff were all very kind. I thought I'd been smart and bought my iPhone charger with me, yet I managed to forget my adaptor! They kindly lent me one so I could charge my phone. 

And then I had a nice shower, painted my toenails and relaxed in bed for the evening! I suppose you could say it wasn't the most exciting birthday by anyone's standards, but it wasn't the worst either. I felt quite excited to get out and explore tomorrow, and make the most of it. After all it was only an overnight trip.

I'm glad in a way that I'll be home for Christmas. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.