DancingAly

By DancingAly

Snow Queen

I just spent ages writing about today. And then the stupid internet connection failed just as I was publishing..... I'll have to start it again later. 

Right, let's try again...

I slept quite well, until 9am. A few messages/birthday things from friends to read, which I did while I drank my cup thimble of tea in bed. I put the TV on and watched something in Dutch. I always try to see if I can figure out what's going on ;-)

I got myself ready and packed up all my stuff. It was grey and cloudy, and it had been drizzling since I woke up. I had a canal view though, and it was a good spot to have a nose and see what was going on from my window.

I went to check out downstairs. The staff have all been very helpful, giving me tips and suggestions on where to go, and advising me. One even circled things on the map for me ;-)

I set off walking back towards the centre of Amsterdam, as my hotel was nearer to the outskirts. I hadn't wanted to be near Dam Square particularly, especially as I was staying alone. 

I walked back the same way as I did last night, and had a look in a few shops. I was looking for somewhere to stop for breakfast, and after looking at several places, I stopped at De Drie Grafjes. It was quite quiet, with just a couple of ladies having coffee. I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and it was not exactly what I expected! The eggs were garlicky so I just ate the salmon and toast! They aren't sure how to do tea here- I got a tea bag and water, but when I asked for some milk, they brought me a huge glass with a straw ;-) 

The only snag was I discovered they didn't take Visa, so I had to walk to the ING cashpoint to get some euros out, and then walk back and pay. I was just surprised- it's 2015- who doesn't accept Visa?! It's not as if I turned up with my Diner's Club! 

The sun was out and it was really nice. Busy too. I took lots of pictures and ended up where all the shops are. I had a good potter about, but with hindsight, I should have stayed off the main streets as I missed out on all the little shops and the canal views! Ah well, I'll just have to come again.

I was mindful of the time, and I stopped at Illy, which is just opposite Centraal station. I had a lovely tea and banana bread- I treated it as my birthday cake ;-)

And then I headed back to the station. I realised that because I'd travelled alone, there would be no pictures of me at all. So I stood with the sun behind me and snapped these pictures. At least we'll know I was actually there ;-)

I caught the train to Schiphol, and then spent a bit of time at the airport shops. It was quite quiet as the departure lounge cleared out, and raining by then. And I knew it was a good thing to go home.

The flight was uneventful, and I sat with two Dutch ladies who lived in England. My Dutch is limited, but I had enough to pick up that they were making fun of English cooking...;-)

I was on the train at 7pm, and my mum picked me up at 8pm. It turned colder, noticeably so, as it was really mild in NL. Little B was overjoyed to see me, and the feeling was mutual!

I sat and had a cup of tea and a piece of the almond cake I bought back while I chatted to mum and dad. It was nice just the three of us. And then I walked back to my house.

I unpacked, had a nice warm bath, and then relaxed with my laptop. I am really glad I went. I think I could have happily spent a few more days here, but perhaps it is best not to be alone at Christmas. It wasn't the way I thought I'd spend this part of the year, but I proved that I can take care of myself, and it's better to do things alone that to not do them at all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.