Aoraki Mount Cook # 2

A different view today across the Mackenzie Plains just out of Twizel.  The sky was just as clear as Thursday - rare to see the mountain so clearly again.

I headed off From Lake Benmore this morning heading towards Hanmer, planning to stop somewhere for lunch and then make a plan.  The Fairlie bakery was closed.  Gearldine was too busy for me to bother stopping there.  I figured I'd stop and Oxford or Cust.  But no!  They were all closed. 

In the end I stopped in Rangiora at the supermarket and grabbed a bread roll.  By the time I'd go that far I figured I might as well head on to Hanmer, planning to stop further on for a coffee.  Amberley was too busy and when I got to Culverden it was all closed too.  Not my day!

I arrived in Hanmer at 5.30 not intending to actually arrive here until tomorrow.  Well at least I got to join the members of my family who are here so far in a soak at the pools.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.