Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Time travel with a Christmas present

About 58 years ago I and three fellow students spent some weekends hitching up and down the A5 road between Rugby and London. This was before Britain's first motorway, the M1, was built. We had with us two guitars, a washboard and ten metal thimbles, a ukulele and a tea chest, a broom handle and a length of string. We stopped at every truck stop and inside became the 74 (the sum of our ages) skiffle group.
Most of the time I was on washboard; occasionally I played the ukulele. The last time I played it was late 1957; we all did badly in exams and the skiffle group was abandoned.
This year I mentioned several times that I fancied getting a ukulele and having a go again. Guess what? I got one for Christmas. I don't remember anything of the chords so I'm about to start from the beginning.
Listen to this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.