There has been sun .......

...... somewhere today.

We went for a walk after breakfast. Exhilarating. Windy, mild, people swimming in the sea, loads of windsurfers having a splendiferous time, dogs everywhere waiting for their balls to be thrown.

Lunchtime, sister-in-law and family arrived and we had a lovely meal at the Lord Bute. Towards the end I got a text about rising river levels on the Irwell (and some pictures - see extra, at Kearsley). I have been following the news since then. The Irwell flood basin at Littleton Road has swung into action, with the water 5 metres deep. Latest news I've picked up is that the police are going door to door telling residents at risk to evacuate.

Awful for those residents in the front line. And there will be plenty of people out helping. I am on call Tuesday and Wednesday when I return, so watching the Met Office forecast with more than a little interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.