Boxing Day!

A day of rest today and thankfully the Boxing Day Test Match got under way at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.  It's a bit of an institution in Australia - put your feet up and watch the first day of the cricket.  It looked very doubtful that there would be any play at all, however the clouds cleared and the sun came out and the cover came off the wicket!!

The sun had almost gone to bed when I realised I didn't have a blip for the day, now that just tells you what a lazy day I had today.  I raced to the side window of the apartment and took this image looking south towards the ocean.  I think we call this an EB in blipspeak :-)) - oh and a backblip as well!!

My personal blipfuture Challenge - Progress Report.

Messages sent to date - 133 (about 5000 to go!)

This is the message that I'm sending out to blippers who I have not connected with before.  I will post it here and I'm very happy if any of my blip buddies wish to share it as well.  LONG LIVE BLIPFOTO!!  ....................

I am sending you this message from a country far far away from Blip Central ..........Australia.  I’m sending it to you because I LOVE blipfoto.  

On Christmas Eve I made a commitment to reach out to as many blippers throughout the world to make sure they were aware of the wonderful opportunity that has been presented to us as a community to secure the future of blipfoto.   

Can you imagine a world where blipfoto was owned and run by passionate and committed blippers.  In short, the Blip Community would be in control of the site, rather than someone with purely commercial interest.  Let's hope there will be a huge ground swell of support for the four courageous blippers who have set the wheels in motion to launch a CIC "Community Interest Company".

If you go to the Blipfuture link you will be able to read all about the potential buyout.  I urge you to read the information provided.   Make sure that you are  “Following” the Blip Central Journal  because there are regular updates being posted to keep us all updated.

I had one simple question to ask myself before pledging my support ……….How would I feel if blipfoto.com ceased to exist?   

I can't think of one blipper that I've met either personally or virtually that hasn't been full of energy and enthusiasm.  I wonder if we are influenced by the incredible images that we are fortunate enough to view every time we log on to our journals.  On a daily basis we see the world in all its beauty, we travel to all corners of the earth seeing the best there is to see.  We are privy to blippers journals, sometimes full of joy and happiness sometimes poignant and heart wrenchingly sad.  We all connect in the most positive way.

I have just loved and pray I will continue to enjoy immensely  the friendship and love that flows freely from this site every day of our lives.  I consider blipfoto to be one of the most positive influences in my life.

If you haven’t already done so, I urge you to pledge your support today - I know I felt very happy to see the following message come up on my screen……

Congratulations!
You have successfully pledged to donate to BlipFuture.
What next:
• You’ll get an email confirming your pledge. The money doesn’t get charged yet though.
• If you have any queries regarding your pledge please contact us.
You can help BlipFuture by spreading the word so please share with other fans of BlipFuture.

Like the humble acorn I featured in my blip on Christmas Eve, I’m hoping that as a community we can help the little Acorn grow into a magnificent thriving Oak tree.

Thanks for listening……”Walking Wombat”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.