Flower

Took this late afternoon after a long lunch and a session of sawing logs. Long lunch not because of the amount which was just my usual meat piece and cheese piece but because afterwards Mrs P and I tend to sit around with Xwords and a book. I was really hunting insects with the macro but ended up with this one because I like the way the "sausage"-thingies (anthers?) seem, especially in large, to be almost floating on top with no support. I was a little disappointed with this lens when I first got it because the press hype had suggested ultra-sharp pictures of wicks would be a piece of cake. Not so. But now I'm aware of its limitations it's one of my favourite lenses around the garden.
"Wicks"? A word used in my Lancashire childhood for any small bug. I remember once sitting on our front doorstep in Ramsbottom with my granny surrounded by ants. And granny saying "they're not ants David, they're wicks". Her logic was that one you can kill by say stepping on them and the other are unkillable. I can't remember which way round it was so for me they're now indistinguishable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.