Robin Redbreast Meets 1984

MrQ is 84 today and my daughter and family came to his birthday lunch. I had two themes in mind for the table decoration and in the end wove them together. 

The first was our 'pet' robin that has given us so much pleasure recently, I dressed the table to represent winter woodland and we each had a robin tree decoration clipped to our crackers. The family were baffled and my daughter asked (after a few glasses of champagne) if they were hair clips. :)

The other theme was 1984. I made a Jack Horner's pie with, "Acts 19 84 today. Big mother is watching over you" in pastry letters. (My elevation to matriarch has gone to my head a bit. ;) ) I insisted on reading the Wiki page on George Orwell's book out but it was difficult to hold the family's attention. I'm ashamed to admit I haven't read the book myself.

The wind was taken out of my sails rather when my granddaughter said that that the saucer-eyed woodland animals that spanned both of my themes were just like those given with Happy Meals. :) (See extra.) Also in spite of all my efforts I think this birthday is going to be remembered for when I did a very granny thing and made my grandson a turkey sarnie with bread that, unbeknownst to me, had a spot of mould on it. :( 

After our lingering lunch we had a musical evening. MrQ played the piano, my son-in-law the drums, my granddaughter the guitar and we sang, my daughter in her element, microphone in hand.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.