Tiny cake

Since I am the only one in the house that enjoys Christmas cake, I was extra kind to my waistline this year and bought the tiniest little cake I could find :) I didn't have high hopes for it but it was absolutely delicious. I have saved half for another little treat tomorrow evening.

It was good to get a bit of fresh air today, having not been out for the past two days. I did get a soaking as I walked to and from the church this morning but it was good to ring our bells again today. They have been out of action since the scaffolding around the church went up in August - but all the restoration work is done now so all is back to normal.

I am determined to learn to crochet during 2016 so had a bit of a go today. It'll need a bit of work but I did manage to at least make a chain and then do a bit of single crochet. It looked a right mess but I am very slowly getting the hang of it. I think I need to fish out the biggest hook I can find and some chunky wool as I reckon that might be easier to work with. It feels weird having the working thread in the left hand - total opposite of knitting and that is taking some getting used to.

My 'mum fail' of the day was to plonk Leo in the bath and then get so caught up in a game of blow darting the rubber ducks that it wasn't until I had him out and was drying him that I realised I hadn't actually washed him at all! So he had a dunking in the bubbles and that was it - well apart from all the fun with the ducks! I get dafter by the day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.