Wednesday: America

I love American authors and two of my favourite writers are Saul Bellow and John Steinbeck.  Bellow's 'The Adventures of Augie March' and Steinbeck's 'Life in Letters' are amongst my favourite books.  

I love old American movies, particularly from the 1940s and 50s with 'Sunset Boulevard' being my favourite.

San Francisco, New York, Portland and Seattle are some of the best cities I have visited and Seattle has the best bookstore in the form the 'The Elliot Bay Bookstore'.  The most beautiful scenery I have ever seen was in the Pacific Northwest.

And I confess to being very fond of slightly twee Country Music and Bruce Springsteen (as long as its pre 1988).

Some of my closest friends are American and I have never yet encountered an American I didn't immediately like.

So I was very happy to be invited tonight to a reception to celebrate the 4th July where Samuel Adams beer was served and we had little tiny hamburgers.

To all my American blip-pals, a very happy 4th of July!

176

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.