All the world's a stage

Much better weather today, which meant I was able to get out for some exercise this afternoon, before my legs atrophied. 

After a short bright spell, with some weak and hazy sunshine, the clouds gathered, making everything look rather drab. I took a bit of a diversion to Orton weir, and came back under the bridge that carries one of the main dual carriageways over the Nene. 

I'd never really looked at it closely and was surprised to notice that the structure was rather elegant, reminding me of a Roman temple or a stage. The girl at the end was waiting for her Mum and added a perfect splash of colour. 

I've added a monochrome version  in the extras, as well as a view along the river, which was higher than I've seen all winter (but remaining well within its banks at the moment) and water rushing through the weir.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.