Fabulous Flaming Fern Owl!

Lovely morning here in Essex. I got a great shot of a dunnock against the blue sky that was to be my Blip.

After a latish lunch I decided to take a walk at Lodge Farm. Quite soon after I had got out of the car I saw a couple in the distance coming towards me on the farm track. I trained my long lens on them waiting in case they had photogenic dogs. Before the dogs came into view a large bird of prey that I initially thought was a buzzard flapped low and lazily into the frame right in front of them. (See extras.)

When I met the people and their dogs I asked if they had seen the bird of prey. They hadn't! After they had gone I looked on my camera screen and realised that I had shot an owl. I carried on walking towards the farm house and the same owl flew up and I got the above pic. I also got one head on but it was soft. :(  My other pics were when it was well in the distance but I captured it catching and flying with a vole. What an exciting and exhilarating episode.

I thought it might be a tawny owl but having researched I think it is a short-eared owl. The fluffy ear-like tufts on these are often not visible but I have a pic of it sitting on the ground where I think I can see them. It's name Asio flammeus comes from its flame-like appearance. These birds were known to Gilbert White and John Clare as fern owls after the bracken dominated hillsides and woodland breaks where they used to be found.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.