Mono Monday : : Room 101

The challenge was to think of something that  bugs you so much that you would like to lock it behind the door to room 101 and never have to see/deal with it ever again…

Be careful what you wish for…

Several of the things I thought of clearly had the potential for unintended consequences, or I had to concede that they were necessary evils, or, given a little thought just didn't merit the effort.

The thing that passed every test, annoys me beyond words and drives me to distraction is computer passwords. When they work, they are a semi-minor inconvenience. But the reasons why they don't work are myriad....beginning with the fact that they just don't to the fact that NO MORTAL CAN REMEMBER THEM,, especially someone getting on in years whose memory isn't quite what it once was. The reasons given for their failure range from 'your password does not match your username to 'you have entered your password incorrectly' but all require you to say 'OK' before you can do anything. IT IS NOT OK!!! 

Judging from the number of identity thefts, they don't really work anyway.

I Googled Passwords out of curiosity. There were pages and pages on 'password managers', tips on how to choose the most secure password...8  or more mixed characters that don't relate to anything, a different password for each new site or service you join, blah, blah, blah…. 

The  list of the 25 most used passwords of 2014, provided some light relief and a dose of reality, two of the best being:
#13 let me in and 
#2: password
 I have an idea…how about…bloody hell ? No wait…blOo5y H3LL!

It is not reassuring that underneath the space for you to enter your password are the words: Forgot your password? Surely they could come up with something better. I can (sometimes) open my iPhone with my fingerprint…..That's a start….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.