HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Blue Rock Thrush (Monticola solitarius)

I'm over the moon with the capture of this new bird the Blue Rock Thrush! I was taking my new camera out for a first test in my Wadi and although I was able to see quite a few birds(including the Kingfisher)it is very overcast and cloudy here and nothing really was extra special for showing off the new cameras abilities. Driving back and just down the hill from my house I noticed an unusual bird in the shadows, it looked almost black but I thought in a shaft of light I saw some colour. As I drove right past it I realised it may well be something a bit special! Turning the car round and going back, I saw it was still on a rockery stone outside a grand house, I parked quite a long way away as I didn't want it to fly off. Being so dark and still a relative 'dot' in the viewfinder until I loaded it onto the computer I had no idea what it was. This is the result! ISO 5000 & handheld at 600mm I still was able to recover a photo of this incredible blue bird. This bird is the emblem of Malta, so it is obviously just visiting Oman. Very happy indeed to see him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.