HilaryinOman

By HilaryinOman

Great Cormorant (Phalacrocorax carbo)

This Great Cormorant was in the little weir area at Al Ansab lagoons this morning, it is quite an unusual place for such a bird and I was very surprised to see him. As you can see I've let the strong contrasty light burn out the highlights so I need to work out better settings to not let this happen again. Luckily you can still see those emerald eyes and that strong, sharp bill in reasonable detail. I also saw a Greater Spotted Eagle high up in a tree with a towercrane just semi visable behind him, so not the best natural background! Some days things don't go to plan and my photos were pretty poor, so I need to learn my new cameras settings with the Sigma lens. A new camera doesn't mean you are suddenly an incredible bird photographer-I've just learnt that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.