Books

I love books. I love buying them and I love being given them. I like picking one up when I'm at someone else's house and reading the first couple of chapters. Sometimes, passing my own bookshelves, I'll pull down a much-loved book and read the last few pages.. When I'm tidying up, the most fateful distraction is that I'll open a book.

As with so many other areas of my life, I have an appetite that boarders on greed when it comes to books. I'll buy books I like the look of and be thrilled with them right up until the point that I add them to the pile of unread books. Indeed, putting them into storage has been a bit of a mercy, as the stack was making me feel guilty each time I walked past it.

The answer, of course, is to make more time for reading, which is what I intend to do, next year. I'm not sure where that time will come from yet: I successfully cut down my time on Twitter and Facebook, this year, but there's still a lot to fit in. Maybe I need to make a rule about limiting the number of the books in the pile, so I can't buy new books until I've read some?

For now, though, here's the beginning of the new pile, for which I am very grateful (despite what I've said above!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.