"Be still my heart! Can this be snow?"

Dear Diary,

Well, that is what Gaylord seems to be saying. My sentiments exactly Gaylord.   He also seemed a bit befuddled by where his seeds could have disappeared to.  He happily dug them out though.  I hope I can be as happy as I dig myself out later this morning.  About 4-5 inches I would say and now I can hear the "ping, ping" of snow changing to sleet.  No day to venture out on the roads.

The 29th of December is the latest I can recall for the first snow.  Usually we have an inch or two before this.  Last year we had two feet!   December was the warmest in 100 years around here and to be approaching New Years with the ponds unfrozen is bizarre.

I got all my Christmas decorations put away yesterday except for my creche which I leave up until Epiphany.  I'll be doing some of my after Christmas craft projects this afternoon.  It is a good day for a fire in the wood stove, a nice Chai Latte and a little "cut and paste".  You can't retire an art teacher, we just keep on snipping 'til we drop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.