Mirror Lake, New Hampshire

Dear Diary,

The calm before the first snow storm of the season.  I can't remember a year when we waited this long for the first snow fall. It will begin tonight so today I will be making sure things are ready.  I thought this photograph of beautiful Mirror Lake was a gentle prelude to the symphony of sleet and snow and ice that is on its way.

I stopped to take in the reflections and soft colors of the sky and water.  What is it about these sorts of landscapes that stop us in our tracks?  For me, it is a reminder of the phrase, "as above, so below".  I've learned by studying ancient Celtic teachings that we are never separate from heavenly interaction.  It is around us all the time, tapping us on the shoulder and asking us to "take a minute".  Slow down and just look.

Between Thanksgiving and New Year's we tend to be in a non-stop whirl of activity.  It was wonderful to simply sit by this beautiful lake in the late afternoon and just breathe in the serenity and peace it freely offered me.  Tomorrow I will deal with whatever Nature gives me, 8 - 12 inches of snow they are saying right now, and be thankful for these moments of common enchantment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.