Tasty Memories

Dear Diary,

Every week when I visit Dotty we talk about some memory she has from her past.  This often opens up the attic of my memory as well and we "compare notes" as it were.  Last week we chatted about food and what we ate back in the day that has gone out of style now.  Milk toast was one of the foods mentioned.

My grandmother use to make milk toast when I wasn't feeling well.  It was thought bland enough to not upset digestion.  However, I remember my grandmother spicing it up a bit with cinnamon sugar and a drop of vanilla.  I loved it!

Then there was Postum, which was a coffee substitute.  I remember my mother drinking it when she was pregnant with my sister.  It went out of production several years ago but I hear it is back.  Ovaltine was another favorite of mine, a sort of malted milk drink.

After school, when I was in junior high, we would walk down to Wheelers Drug store at the end of Felton Street in Wood Square for a vanilla phosphate at the soda counter.  Watching on Christmas Ever the opening scenes of It's a Wonderful Life in the old drug store brought back that memory.  I guess the local Starbucks would be the 21st century equivalent of the corner drug store in the mid-20th century.

Hopefully, Dotty and I will continue our reminiscing this Wednesday if the snow storm, yes, I said snow!, isn't too bad on Tuesday.  Right now it is pouring rain again.  A little snow will be a treat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.