Sisters

Dear Diary,

I watched the last of the old Christmas movies trilogy yesterday, White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kay.  It begins with a scene from the war, Christmas Eve, 1944.  With the post this week of my father's Christmas card sent home in 1944, it made me wonder how he celebrated Christmas that year on the front.  Did they have any festivities at all?  The song, White Christmas, was very popular with the troops I know.

The movie also features Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Allen (and I can see where my mother's insistence I take tap dancing lessons came from) and their song "Sisters" made me think of this photograph I recently got from my cousin.  It shows three of my father's sisters.  The one on the left is my dear Aunt Doris to whom he sent the Christmas card.  This, of course, got me thinking of my sister and my extra photograph is from Christmas, 1966.  I wonder if we planned to all dress in white?  My little sister is in front and my sister-in-law is on the right.

On another note, last night was the first full Christmas moon in over 40 years and the next one won't be until 2034.  It was spectacular and had there been a white Christmas here it would have been as bright as day out.  Some nasty weather predicted for tomorrow, although it sounds more sleat than snow, so it will be a good day to write my thank you notes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.