Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Hellebore

My hellebores started flowering very early - I posted a photo of some of them here several weeks ago. They are still going strong, and the newest one, which I bought earlier this year (2015) at Ashwood Nurseries, has now joined in. This is just a hand-held shot, but worked quite well. Actually I used 3 different cameras to try to get a picture, as I was just taking a hand-held snap - all with four thirds sized sensors. I'm not sure why, but all the Olympus OM-D E-M5ii shots are out of focus/blurred, the Panasonic GM5 shots are better, but not great, and it is the Panasonic LX100 which produced the best results! ISO and other settings were much the same for all the cameras, and in terms of lenses I used the 60mm macro on the Olympus, kit 12-32 on the GM5, and of course the fixed lens on the LX100. The exact opposite in terms of image quality from what one would expect in theory, with appropriate, shutter speed, aperture, ISO, image stabilisation etc. One reviewer was rather scathing about the image stabilisation of the LX100, but I have found it exceptionally impressive whenever I've used it. I just wish it went a bit longer on the zoom range (though I welcome the 24mm FF equivalent at the wide end), and that the close-up setting used a longer focal length, to give a narrower field of view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.