Blur

Today had a little less definition than usual. I woke some time in the night, we estimate 1:30 or so, to find that the power was off. The UPS had already run down so we could not shut the server down safely.. We crossed our fingers and returned to bed.

Nell declared it to be morning, though we were still without a clock to check. We took her word for it and got up. A phone call established that the power supply would return by 1 pm, so I donned my thermals and put a brave face on it despite having a mug of instant coffee and no shower.

The power came back for us at 11 am - a nice surprise - but we were warned that it may go off again. A phone call at 2 pm told us to prepare for a further interruption between 2:15 and 3:15 pm. We wondered what to do with our time and decided to walk the dog up to the shop to see if our Wild Boar meat (for  Thursday's dinner) had arrived. I packed my camera.

Now, I should like to say that I was being arty in capturing this shot but, alas, my camera has a firmware bug and periodically fails to focus. As the sun was shining straight at me, I could not see what I was shooting and just relied on auto focus. Significant Fail there.

The Aga is now heating up nicely and a Fish Pie is in preparation. Perfect comfort food after a chilly day.

The Met Office is giving us a Yellow warning for Wind from 3 pm today, so perhaps the boys will be back with their cherry picker tomorrow. I'll try for a better focus if they do :-)

I just hope that I get my Boar cooked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.