The Great Roberto

By gr8roberto

Over the fence

A night of loud noises. Our neighbours are renovating well into the night ~ what time is the reasonable cutoff point for telling a neighbour to please shut up? Anyway ~ shouts and general rowdiness over the back wall tonight. Checking over the wall and considering the weekend and the late blips I've produced recently, and the time I never got to devote to my Mother I thought a word from one of our favourite poets may be appropriate :

Smothering Sunday

To a wonderful mother
with wrinkly skin,
this card was concocted
by one of your kin.
I hope that you like it
it's specially for you,
I've sprinkled some glitter
on top of some glue.
I don't like the bought ones
I thought you should know,
they're too superficial
and two quid a throw
some of them.
This poem is from Can I Come Down Now Dad? by John Hegley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.