Waddesdon Lights

We met my mum at Waddesdon this afternoon (along with most of the rest of the South of England!!) to see the third and final Bruce Monro light art installation.
We met in the car park and headed to the adventure playground for an hour's muddy play as it got dark. Death slides, new fangled bouncy swinging see-saw things, spinning poles, climbing frames, slides. It was heaving and there were some equipment sharing issues but it got less busy as it got darker!!
Once it was properly dark we headed up to the house and were dazzled by the Son et Lumiere display which transformed the house and surrounding trees. Amazing!!
There was a giant candlestick made of wine bottles, dozens of twinkly Christmas trees and the stunning Waddesdon mistletoe lights. It all looked so beautiful.
Then we went round to the Bruce Monro lights. I loved it! 
There were hundreds of illuminated tents winding through the garden changing colour from white to multi-coloured. There was music booming out, snippets of radio - the Shipping Forecast, Test Match Special, news clips, static, morse code bleeps sounding out S.O.S. It was brilliant!
Apparently the idea came from his childhood memories of camping holidays and it did make me feel very nostalgic walking round listening to the music and clips.
The Little Misses weren't too fussed about it but they did like running off in the pitch dark!
One of the things I love about Blip is how easy it is to look back over past events. A quick search brings up every single Waddesdon Blip I've ever done; I can look back over the past five Christmases at the click of a button; I couldn't count the number of times I've said "I'll check my Blip" to see when something happened. I have all the pictures saved and the entries backed up but nothing could ever be the same as having it all there at my fingertips. 
It's such a huge part of my life. I just can't imagine it not being there.
I've done my bit at Blipfuture.com. I just hope enough other people do too.
And you don't have to be a Blipper.
Just saying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.