Sunshine

Out exploring today making the most of the beautiful Winter Sunshine before Storm Frank arrives.
We drove over to Culbokie and surprised to see that most of the snow had disappeared from the Mountain tops. We went to Ferintosh Free Church.An interesting Church with a bell tower over looking the Cromarty Firth. A strange metal structure behind the building , rather like a urinal, with the words 'Please adjust your dress before leaving', see extra.
Then down to Urquhart Old Burial ground. The old church lays hidden under ivy and behind fine yew trees. The oldest grave stone dated from 1753. Robins, wrens and blackbirds a plenty. A peaceful setting close to the shore of the Cromarty Firth.It is thought that a wooden church stood on the sight from AD721.
Feeling hungry now so we went for lunch, jacket potato with prawns for me, at the Storehouse. Fantastic views back to the Cromarty Bridge across the flat, blue Firth.
We should have gone straight home as we had lots of jobs to do but we decided to go down to Newhall Point and back through Cromarty. A lovely drive.
Came across this poem today, this is so me, Sorry Mike !

Sat Nav

I have a little Satnav, It sits there in my car
A Satnav is a driver’s friend, it tells you where you are.
I have a little Satnav, I’ve had most my life
It’s better than the normal ones, my Satnav is my wife.
It gives me full instructions, especially how to drive
“It’s sixty Ks an hour”, it says, “You’re doing sixty five”.
It tells me when to stop and start, and when to use the brake
And tells me that it’s never ever, safe to overtake.
It tells me when a light is red, and when it goes to green
It seems to know instinctively, just when to intervene.
It lists the vehicles just in front, and all those to the rear
And taking this into account, it specifies my gear.
I’m sure no other driver, has so helpful a device
For when we leave and lock the car, it still gives me advice.
It fills me up with counselling, each journey’s pretty fraught
So why don’t I exchange it, and get a quieter sort?
Ah well, you see, it cleans the house, makes sure I’m properly fed
It washes all my shirts and things, and keeps me warm in bed!
Despite all these advantages, and my tendency to scoff,
I only wish that now and then, I could turn the b****r off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.