Killed By Death

I (Annie) woke to the sad news that Lemmy from the band Motorhead had died. The band were very important to me in my teens and twenties: I went to see them many times with my then boyfriend Simon before he was killed in a motorbike crash aged 18. As his favourite band, his name is carved onto his gravestone in the very distinctive Motorhead font.

After his death, I went many more times with our friends, at times remembering him amid the loud music. The last time I saw them was just this summer - at Glastonbury. I laughed at the vision of Simon watching them to perform to a field full of (in his words) muddy "hippies"...

It don't make no difference
'cos I ain't gonna be, easy, easy
the only time I'm gonna be easy's when I'm
Killed by Death


RIP, you great man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.