Rough Night Ahead

What a busy day today. After a super breakfast at our B&B in Newquay we headed for my uncle and auntie's in Helston, had a good catch up, sharing photos and stories of times past. From there we picked up some flowers at Tesco, topped the car up with fuel then to my favourite pasty shop in the whole world. I'm not telling you, it's a secret. We ate them while sitting in the car at Porthleven harbourside.

Then off to do, what I fondly call, the graveyard run, putting flowers on my Mum's headstone in Ruan Minor and Dad's at Mawgan-in-Meneague; saying 'hello' to other departed relatives along the way.

It was then back to Helston to catch up with my best friend and his parents - plus their grandson was there too. Another good natter and plenty of reminiscing.

Next off to one of our favourite eateries, the Newlyn Meadery, stopping off on the way there and the way back to watch the seas breaking over the promenade, soaking cars and unsuspecting pedestrians. Ok, I will admit it, because I will be reminded often, at one point I'd forgotten that I'd left the car window open, just half an inch and  on the sheltered side, but boy did I get wet one one mahoosive wave covered the car!!

Anyway, so good were the waves at Penzance that we decided to detour back to Newquay via Portheven to see what was happening there. Despite being two hours after high tide there was still quite a swell, aided by the increasing winds, which are forecast to get up to 70mph overnight and into tomorrow. This then is The Ship Inn at Porthleven, with telephone lens balanced on a partly open car window, getting covered in salt spray and the shutter speed down to 1/40th of a second.

What a great day.

It's 23:30, must sleep now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.