TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Snowy View From The Patio

As the weather continues to be blah here in central Pennsylvania, I have become a little nostalgic for snowy vistas (very strange for me since I am historically NOT a big fan of the white stuff); so I am humoring myself with a look back at one of my favorite snowy photos. This frozen vista was captured from my back patio on December 27, 2012.

"On the first day of winter,
the earth awakens to the cold touch of itself.
Snow knows no other recourse except
this falling, this sudden letting go
over the small gnomed bushes, all the emptying trees.
Snow puts beauty back into the withered and malnourished,
into the death-wish of nature and the deliberate way
winter insists on nothing less than deference.
waiting all its life, snow says, "Let me cover you."


~ Laura LushThe First Day of Winter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.