a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Seeing out the Old Year

I have better quality photos, from tonight's sojourn amongst the hostelries of Bath, but this is the shot that is most true to the evening.  

Pete (who is one of the Lord Mayor's guides in Bath) had suggested a beer based tour of Bath between Christmas and New Year, to see out the old year...   He had a talk prepared about Bath's brewing history and the history of the many pubs and their landlords and clientelle.  We were very much looking forward to it - when he puts his mind to it, Pete really excels ... and indeed he did, even for our little  mini tour.  The full tour is now rearranged for January.

Sadly today's weather put paid to that particular idea, so a smaller group of us went to explore some of the lesser know pubs of Bath.  Along the way we played pool, sang songs by Free, indulged in chilli pork scratchings and pickled eggs - oh , yes, and sampled the ale.  It was a terribly entertaining evening.

So, that completes my (first) year here on blip.  Well, strictly tomorrow is day 365, but I think you can see where I am coming from.  There was a time when completing a year of blips seemed like a very long way away. I remember setting off on this particular challenge, with not a clue as to what I would experience.  In practice it has been a complete delight, the advice and support from other more experienced photographers has been 
invaluable and (despite the evidence of this photo) I think that my photography has definitely improved.

I shall say more tomorrow, but here for now as my extra, it is (of course) the next of those pesky anagrams of Christmas - I think you can see what I've done here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.