AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Zorro - again!

I didn't know what to expect when I bought this hydrangea, but I just fell in love with the vibrant colour of the large petals, and the lovely dark bronze stem. I blipped the large wet petals a few days ag0 here but just noticed yesterday that the tiny buds in the middle had started to open out into wee flowers. this is a macro shot of them, I like the way you can see a few just starting to come out.

so much for the doom and gloom weather forecast for Scotland for today - the sun has just come out and I may even get the grass cut!

I am off to London tonight, till Sunday night, to visit daughter #1 and a couple of friends, so will probably spend Monday doing some back blips and catching up. hopefully I will have some city shots for a change!!

update: I'm told my my knowledgeable neighbour that this is commonly called a 'lacecap' hydrangea, and that the large outer flowers are infertile, it is these tiny ones that the bees love and propogate the plant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.