AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

underground

A rainy Friday morning in London found me prowling around the subterranean world underneath Canary Wharf, a world of conspicuous consumption - deisgner shops, cafes, restaurants, shoe shine stands even! Because of the weather the whole area was heaving with people, getting from A to B underground like busy ants.

There is an international competition called 'Canstruction' where teams of designers, architects and engineers take on the challenge of constructing giant sculptures using only cans of food. Luckily for me, for it amused me for ages trying to find them all, Canary Wharf was hosting a display of these sculptures, like this serpent. Two days later they were all being dismantled and the cans of food distributed to the needy in London. The whole area is such a maze that I only found about half of them but I seemed to be the only person actually taking any notice of these amazing feats of imagination and engineering - everyone else was too busy dashing around.

My alternative blip was one taken when I did venture to the outside world, it was of the Reuters Building with the electronic ticker tape that goes round the outside of the building showing the latest share prices. This suddenly came round: 'The right information in the right hands leads to amazing things. That's the knowledge effect' I'll leave you to draw your own conculsion...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.