2015 Reflections

When I was here exactly one year ago it was pretty possible to surmise some of the things that would befall my lot in 2015. Others were totally impossible.

It is no surprise that I look back over 365 days with wonder. Laughter has been mine, the best of friendships, children that love me so much that I almost feel them breathing me in, parents that are beyond what any man could expect, and my precious CC who remains a constant revelation to me. You may think all this is my life, but there's much more and much of it is not to be replayed here but it is hard, at times dark and most definitely a weight. You see our life has much that we carry and some of these items are those that life will always deal us. I recognise hardship as a truth of life. Laughter is sweeter because of it.

In 2015 I have been very blessed to deepen my friendships and deepen my love of Staithes. Both matter to me enormously and some of my new connections are beyond timely. I sat with one such friend today in Whitby off Church Street, supping on strong black coffee and a helping of Jack Daniels. We then fell into a record shop and rummaged for ages in vinyl. He bought Roxy Music records. I got Neil Young & Kate Bush. For these things I am very grateful. I am more rounded for them and richer for the extra colour.

Blip too has taken a step forward and tomorrow many will share their support with journal entries in appreciation of this wonderful community. I started blip four and half years ago and one of the early blippers to welcome and encourage me was Earthdreamer. Bob is now one of those leading the new blip direction. I commend him to you because from his writing I know him to be a driven man who strives to be the best he can. I hope that he can, with us, with you, save blip. What an achievement that would be.

I lost another older friend this year and his life had touched so many. I spent some time with him just before he died and his thirst for life was as rich as it had ever been. I want to take that thought into 2016 because if Reuben could have been here squeezing the juice out of every day, he would have been.

To you all, I wish you the best of New Years. I value your friendship on blip and beyond.

You rock my world.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.