In My World

By JoanneInOz

Kirra Beach Pavilion

Kirra Beach has always been a popular destination for both holiday makers and locals alike, and I have included photos in my journal of this beautiful beach on a number of occasions.

Today I stopped off at an old landmark situated right on the beach ~ Kirra Beach Pavilion.

The Pavilion was built during the early 1930's with the official opening in 1935.

The old building has weathered many storms and cyclones over the years (literally!) and if these old walls could talk, they would have many a story to tell.

These days, the Pavilion houses a Pizza Hut, and for as long as I can remember it has been the home of the Kirra Surf Life Saving Club.

I'm sure I recall there once being an ice cream shop there, back when I was a child. :)

Had a big day out and about today and haven't had time at home to catch up on everyone's journals, or reply to the wonderful comments you have all been leaving. I love the interaction with you all and will catch up tomorrow morning, for now it is off to bed for me. Goodnight all, and Happy 4th of July to my friends in the USA. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.