Icons Behind Bars

Yes, that's right, this beautiful kangaroo family are actually behind bars, and I don't mean that they are at the zoo either.

On my way home from my recent trip down south I spent a night at South West Rocks, where the remains of the old Trial Bay Gaol can be found. Built in 1886, the gaol must have one of the best views of any gaol, anywhere, as it is built right on the east coast of Australia overlooking the ocean.

The gaol was closed when I was there, although it occasioanlly opens for tours, so the photos I took were of the outside of the gaol and looking through the bars of the front gate.

The kangaroos actually roam wild in this area (obviously they enjoy the ocean views!) and I was thrilled to bits to have the opportunity to take this lovely family portrait of some of our much loved Aussie Icons.

Don't be fooled by any rumours you may have heard, about kangaroos roaming the streets of Australia, it just doesn't happen, and I can assure you that I was just as excited to see these three gorgeous creatures as any overseas visitor would have been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.