horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Who needs fireworks?

Is what I thought as I stood, having wandered well away from the prom to get into the dark to be able to see the aurora properly, while waiting for the bells. In fairness when the tolling began it was quite a sight to watch the curve of the coast out from Portobello east, round by Musselburgh and the Pans and on to the dimple of North Berwick Law, and see little dancing lights all the way, hopping the Forth and into Fife with the same lit skies. But nature still wins.

Mel had fallen asleep at about 9, briefly woke at 11, but soon retired, so I took heed of the aurora warnings, chucked a hipflask in my pocket for my annual solo toast to kicking out the crap last year and hoping for better in the next, and made for the shore.

Let's see what the arbitrary number change will bring this time round....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.