Blipfuture for us

Stuck inside all day because of rain, rain, and more rain. Worried about the the boys who are away camping at the Kai Iwi Lakes, as we had heard that the storm was going to be worse in the north. Have just heard from Mr H (who rang his mother who is here with us) that while they have had a bit of rain, the weather has been not too bad and they have done lots of things. Relief.

S' niece asked to have her birthday celebrations at the Beachhouse, so that she could see her Grandmother, and us, as well as her immediate family; they also came. Both our daughters were here and it was a very happy time. I got a lovely photo of niece looking at her Grandmother. The love is palpable, as is seen in today's extra. She and her partner will return to their home in London soon.

I left the family at mother-in-law's and returned to the Beachhouse ahead of everyone else as i needed to rest my leg; too much standing. It gave me the opportunity to create my blip. Following the exhortation of the blipfuture post from a few days ago, I have used the plastic dominoes collected as give-aways from one of the supermarkets.

I did this because of the metaphors. The dominoes were regarded as free, as gifts from the supermarket. In reality, the prices remain higher than they need be partly as a result of offering "free" gifts. The internet is regarded by many as free. There is a cost, and we have more control over it if we contribute to the running of the sites we use and value, such as blipfuture.

Dominoes have dots, which we need to connect up to make a path forward. I have tried to show the future of blip by connecting the dots.

Another metaphor I see in this is that dominoes are fun. Enjoyment and pleasure come from this simple activity. Photography is fun. I get immense pleasure and enjoyment from my photography, and also from the seeing of others' photos, and interacting with blip friends. Sharing good times, and occasionally harder times. Supporting people (unknown outside blip) with words and images. Feeling the caring of people I've never met, but feel I know well. A community that is mostly uncomplicated, that is (in my experience) deeply caring and ethical, and that is grateful to the founders of blipfoto for offering this site, and now needs to support Blipfuture taking the next step.

I have pledged a donation. I know that many others have also, and others have pledged to become shareholders. As the countdown continues. I am watching the figure, and am prepared to consider whether or not I can pledge more if that is needed.

The future of blip is us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.