Got my road shoes wet

to get this photo.

Late to bed, and then I read for a while. Woke at about quarter past 6. After a bit of pottering around, I decided that the tide might be right for waders close to the shore. Many were the white faced herons I saw, and in the water were ducks. Not able to get close enough to know if they were the native grey duck, or mallards (most likely). Gulls everywhere of course.

Then I recognised the body shape of a group of waders right on the edge of the retreating tide. With lots of pools, and mud between me and them. Got as close as I could, which was necessary given that I was carrying my running camera; the Nikon compact. 

I got a series of photos of the Kuaka; the Bar-Tailed Godwit. An estimated 80 - 90,000 of this migrant from Alaska arrive every year, in the spring. They fly more than 11,000 km without stopping; the longest non-stop flight of any bird. 

The Maori name, kuaka, is said to be onomatopoeic, based on its call. (A very different bird, the Common Diving Petrel, is also given the name kuaka because of its call). Godwit appears to be Anglo Saxon, meaning good bird, probably related to being good to eat.

To get close enough for this photo, I needed to walk through some pools on the way. I think it was worth it.

We took lunch to Scott's Landing at the end of the Mahurangi East peninsula, and there enjoyed the sea, the sand and the sun for almost four hours. Summer is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.