A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Happy New Year!

2016 let's make it a blipping good year!

I took this shot at 4 minutes past midnight with fireworks popping outside and on the TV.

The books are the five blip books I have made since starting with the picture of my cat Tosca ( bless her - no longer with us) seen on the cover of the top left book. It was taken on Easter Sunday (4th April) 2010. I really didn't know what I was starting.

I have now blipped for 5 years and 278 days with the 6th book well under way. It records my daily life. For 5 years of that time I have been retired but there are pictures and references back to when I was teaching. My family and friends can see what I am doing - probably too much!

But blip is much more than a record, I could keep that without this community. It is about sharing with like minded people around the world. I have been fortunate to meet some of them. Hello there rainie in Timaru, the first to welcome me in New Zealand. Tussock Tales and A cycling Grannie who handed back Blip Bear to me in Wanaka. Treasured moments of my retirement trip there.

We have a large local community some of whom I have known for years like Wendles56 who introduced me to blip and Corinthian Column, and Wilsden Walker who started blip because of me and people who started because of them. But there are lots of new people who I would have never known and who are too numerous to mention. I've also reconnected with people I knew years ago, old colleagues like High Pike and his wife PaulJ who I only new as a name until blip.

There is also the promise of meeting more. Maybe NannaK I will get to see your wonderful hideaway in the Gulf Islands and if I don't I can still see the wonderful family times and peaceful retreats you have there.

I have seen people have their first grandchild and watched them grow - Kath Gordon and her wonderful Maddie Mondays.

I could go on and on and that's what makes me realise what a huge amount blip means to my daily life. I have always loved photography and that won't stop if blip does but so much more will be missing if blip doesn't continue.

This morning rainie mentioned Tuscany ( Amalarian) who lived in an inspiring place and wrote inspiring blips. She died suddenly but I have her blips and she is remembered annually by many in this community as I am sure are others.

Blip is about people and their lives and reaching out to each other to share something special.

Please pledge to keep blip alive. We have 4 amazing people trying to do this for us, give them your support.
https://www.blipfuture.com/invest

A very Happy New Year to you all, let's keep Blipfoto a part of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.