The second half of life..

By twigs

Spirits Bay

The drive around the north-east area of Northland took in some stupendous beaches/beach views.  What an iyllic spot this would be (save for the lrge numbers of holiday-makers around at at the moment.  Oh!  That's nright!  I am one of the holiday -makers!  Sorry to spoil your idyllic settings all you residents.)  Again, I can see myself coming back here in the future, at a time when the hordes have all gone back to work and when I, in my restful retirement, can enjoy its tranquil beauty undisturbed.)

The clouds were closing in slowly but surely as the day progressed.  By the time I had driven up the Aupouri Peninsula, heading ultimately for Cape Reinga, the rain was threatening.  I decided to stay at Spirits Bay (in Maori mythology, the place where the spirits of the dead gather to depart from this world to travel to their ancestral home (or afterlife) from a large old pōhutukawa tree above the bay.  I didn't see the pohutukawa - it was getting harder to see much actually.  


I parked up and took a stroll to the beach.  It's massive but there were only two or three people walking, a couple of guys deciding whether to try a surf or not and this guy surf-casting.  The wind was howling and by this time, the rain had begun.


Back to the van (which was being seriously buffeted around by the wind) and with no internet  or cell connection at all, it was no blip and an early night.


I think the wind and rain helped keep the New Year's revellers spirits dampened as I never heard a thing from any of the dozens of people who were also at the camp site.  :)


Happy new year everyone :)  May 2016 be all you hope it will be for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.