The second half of life..

By twigs

Te Hapua

Blip - part of my life now for almost 8 years.........hard to imagine what life might be like without it now.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 

It rained and blew all night long - then it rained and blew even more as I drove firstly to Te Hapua, the most northerly settlement in the of New Zealand, and then to cape Reinga to the lighthouse.

Te Hapua was an accidental journey.  I actually thought I was driving out to the North Cape but my quick glance at the map  was obviously wrong!  Never mind, I got to have a quick squiz round Te Hapua instead.

Then out to Cape Reinga - always a stunning drive to the lighthouse and today was equally so, though for very different reasons.  The wind was really blowing hard to the point where I actually felt a little unsafe too near the edge of the cliff-top!  

A cruisey drive back down the Aupouri Peninsula and a visit (in the rain) to an old gum-diggers site.  45000 year old kauri stumps, preserved by the bogs, 150000 year old kauri stumps below them.........prety mind boggling really, but an utterly fascinating 90-odd minutes spent lookin at the history and workings of the old gum-diggers.  What a hearty bunch they must have been.

Finished the drive off at Ahipara where I have treated myself to a hot shower.  Bliss :)

And yes - it's still raining, and set to be even worse tomorrow.

Heard today that Mum has been taken to hospital.  She's OK but has apparently got a broken coccyx which was making her very uncomfortable.  Thinking of you mum and sending a special big hug.  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.